Skip To Main Content

Jefferson's Christina Mitchell Named the 2023 NPS Teacher of the Year

Jefferson's Christina Mitchell Named the 2023 NPS Teacher of the Year
NPS Communications

Norwalk Public Schools has awarded Christina Mitchell, a kindergarten teacher at Jefferson Marine Science Elementary School, the 2023 Teacher of the Year honor. She will serve as the district nominee for the 2024 Connecticut Teacher of the Year.

Superintendent Dr. Alexandra Estrella and Norwalk Board of Education Chair Diana Carpio presented Mitchell with her award during the 2023 Teachers’ Convocation on Wednesday, Aug. 23 at Brien McMahon High School. Jefferson’s Principal Cesar Nina introduced the award.

“As soon as I learned I was a candidate, I was immediately grateful for my Jefferson family. You’ve taught me all I know about teaching. I am where I am today because of all of our teamwork and your unconditional support,” Mitchell said when accepting her award.

Mitchell shared a special shout out to the paraeducators who co-taught in her classroom over the last year, calling them “all rockstars!” She also shared some words of encouragement to her fellow teachers as they embarked on a new school year.

“Don’t forget to always listen to your heart. Remind yourself we are working with kids. Let’s make the time to connect with them, learn who they are, find out where they come from, ask questions about the things they love, have some fun and dance with them. Be the reason a student smiles that day,” she said.

Principal Nina described Mitchell as a true NPS educator who, despite any challenges thrown her way, will always persevere and remain invested and devoted to her students.

“She ventured on a very tough journey as a co-teacher in a co-taught setting this past year. Though it was her first time teaching in this setting, she was eager to learn and be the best teacher she could be for her students,” Nina said.

Norwalk Public Schools last awarded the Teacher of the Year honor in 2022 to Steven McAuley, a fifth-grade teacher at Wolfpit Integrated Arts School. The 2023 CT Teacher of the Year honor was awarded to Carolyn Kielma from Bristol Public Schools.

Click here to watch the moment Superintendent Dr. Estrella surprised Christina Mitchell and her entire kindergarten class at Jefferson Marine Science Elementary School.

  • BOE
  • Cesar Nina
  • Christina Mitchell
  • Diana Carpio
  • Dr. Alexandra Estrella
  • Jefferson
  • Jefferson Elementary School
  • Jefferson Marine Science Elementary School
  • Norwalk BOE
  • Norwalk Board of Education
  • principals
  • superintendent
  • superintendent of schools
  • teachers